The Perfect Red Lip

I absolutely love a good red lip. I believe it truly has the power to transform a woman. My every day look leaves me feeling innocent and girly, but when I wear that red lipstick…. I am a woman. Alluring. Confident. Bold. And sexy. I love it! And I am probably one of countless women who can appreciate the magic confidence boost a red lip can provide.

The fact is: Everybody loves red lips! Save for a few who may feel that red is too bright or that they simply can’t pull off the color. But I think anyone can find their perfect red. Red lips definitely are not a one-hue fit all kind of thing, but there are so many options to choose from! With that being said, my fellow SOHO team member Taylor and I decided to take a journey to find our perfect red lip and compare how our paths differed.

 

Taylor:

Taylor’s ideal red is fun and summer-friendly. She also needs something to plump her lips, as they are a little thin.

Me:

My ideal red is a classic, true red. All matte, of course. And ideally I like for the lips to be highlighted, to really bring the focus to my lips (and away from my big eyes for a change).

 

Let us begin!

 

beforeTO

The before pictures. Our lips are bare and we are ready to go!

lip scrub

You can never start the cosmetics before the skincare! Taylor (right) and I (left) both opted to use Sara Happ’s lip scrub beforehand for a smooth lip application.

lipliner

We both decided that lip liner all over was the best start for such a bold lip. Taylor used Kevyn Aucoin’s “The Flesh Tone Lip Liner” in Cerise (which is intensely pigmented), while I opted for Inglot Cosmetics’ Soft Precision Lipliner in No. 72. (which helps me to create the perfect line).

glossandlipstick

Switching it up: While my ideal red is classic and matte, Taylor’s is fun and summery. So I topped off my lips with Becca’s Ultimate Matte Lip Colour in Josephine (a true red) and Taylor opted for a deep red gloss with pink undertones from Kevyn Aucoin (The Lip Gloss in Pasiflora).

concealortohighlight

We both wanted our lips to pop out a bit more, so we lined both lips with concealer to highlight! Taylor used The Sensual Skin Enhancer from Kevyn Aucoin, while I used the Dual Coverage Compact Concealer from Becca Cosmetics.

after lips

One last thing: just can’t complete a lip look without a smile! Even if it’s a small, flirty one 😉

afterfullface

The finished product: We have each found our perfect red lip, and while our steps were similar, we used completely different products to get there!

Leave a Reply

